jump to navigation

We Are Not OK May 29, 2010

Posted by The Typist in 504, Louisiana, New Orleans, NOLA, Toulouse Street.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I keep watching this over and over again. Sometimes, instead, I go look at this. And I don’t know what to say or how to say it. I will be at the demonstration.

They have moved it to the amphitheater steps across Decatur from the Square, and I know there is no way it will hold everyone. I would not recommend driving into the Quarter (for more reasons than just traffic. Try to ride your bike or take public transit), but I am fairly certain the crowd will spill into Decatur.

I have been home four years this weekend and will crib a link because I’m not in the mood to write about the holiday I now think of as Homecoming. BP is drilling in 5,000 feet because the rest of America refuses to drill in 50′ or 500′ and because we are expendable. Excuse me if I’m not feeling especially patriotic today.

I don’t know what else to say today.I am too busy worrying about the dying to bother about the dead.

Comments»

1. Once KamaAina - May 31, 2010

This part of “the rest of America” already tried drilling just offshore. The result: A blowout, resulting in the Santa Barbara oil spill of 1969.

Put the blame where it belongs: on the cheap-ass bastards at BP and Halliburton who wouldn’t even spring for a half-million-dollar blowout protector (about as much of an added expense to them as a cafe au lait would be to you or me), let alone drill relief wells ahead of time, as I understand is the practice in the civilized world (Britain, Norway, etc.)

Like


Leave a comment