jump to navigation

51 June 7, 2008

Posted by The Typist in Toulouse Street.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

“Time isn’t after us. Time isn’t holding us…”
— David Byrne

Byrne’s words are not true, but they are of a class with all of the Great Lies: they give us the courage to face the lions, the compulsion to sail for Mecca, and comfort when the night is dark and the stars seem dim and distant.

I won’t say you’re only as old as you feel. I feel short of sleep and hungover. You are, however, only as old as you let yourself be. There is no video online I can find of the song “Sweet Thing” and it is too early in the morning for me to rip the song into something I could upload and share. Like all memorable tunes, if you know it the lyrics alone are enough to set it playing in your head. “And I will walk and talk/In gardens all wet with rain/And I will never, ever, ever,/Grow so old again…”

“Sweet Thing”
by Van Morrison

And I will stroll the merry way
And jump the hedges first
And I will drink the clear
Clean water for to quench my thirst
And I shall watch the ferry-boats
And they’ll get high
On a bluer ocean
Against tomorrow’s sky
And I will never grow so old again
And I will walk and talk
In gardens all wet with rain

Oh sweet thing, sweet thing
My, my, my, my, my sweet thing

And I shall drive my chariot
Down your streets and cry
hey, its me, I’m dynamite
And I don’t know why
And you shall take me strongly
In your arms again
And I will not remember
That I even felt the pain.
We shall walk and talk
In gardens all misty and wet with rain
And I will never, never, never
Grow so old again.

Oh sweet thing, sweet thing
My, my, my, my, my sweet thing

And I will raise my hand up
Into the night time sky
And count the stars
That’s shining in your eye
Just to dig it all and not to wonder
Thats just fine
And I’ll be satisfied
Not to read in between the lines
And I will walk and talk
In gardens all wet with rain
And I will never, ever, ever, ever
Grow so old again.
Oh sweet thing, sweet thing
Sugar-baby with your champagne eyes
And your saint-like smile…

Added later: The transcendent version by the Waterboys found on MySpace.

Comments»

1. liprap - June 7, 2008

Happy Birthday, Mark!

Like

2. gregp - June 7, 2008

Best lyrics ever. The version by The Waterboys, as someone once wrote about Beethoven’s Song of Joy, “Transcends the human and reaches for the divine.)

Like

3. Sophmom - June 7, 2008

Whoa, baby, HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! You’re a young ‘un, lookin’ from here/! 😉

Like

4. LIsaPal - June 7, 2008

Happy Birthday! And remember, 50 is the new 30, so it’s all good.

Like

5. WEB SHERIFF - June 8, 2008

WEB SHERIFF
Protecting Your Rights on the Internet
Tel 44-(0)208-323 8013
Fax 44-(0)208-323 8080
websheriff@websheriff.com
http://www.websheriff.com

Hi Wet Bank Guy,

On behalf of Exile Productions and Exile Publishing, many thanks for plugging Van Morrison… thanks also, for not posting any pirate links to unreleased material, if you want good quality, non-pirated, preview tracks from Van’s new album – “Keep It Simple” – full versions of “That’s Entrainment” and “Behind The Ritual” (along with album track samplers) are available for fans and bloggers to link on Lost Highway’s web-site at http://www.losthighwayrecords.com .

Up-to-the-minute info on Keep It Simple and Van’s 2008 shows is, of course, also available on http://www.vanmorrison.com and http://www.myspace.com/vanmorrison and, for a limited period, you can still hear Van’s exclusive BBC concert at http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/aod/radio2_aod.shtml?radio2/r2_vanmorrison and you can also see his BBC sessions at http://www.bbc.co.uk/musictv/vanmorrison/video/ .

Thanks again for your support.

Regards,

WEB SHERIFF

Like

6. Adrastos - June 8, 2008

Happy belated birthday, mon ami.

Like

7. Marco - June 9, 2008

51, you’re still a pup. Happy Birthday!

Like

8. judyb - June 9, 2008

Happy Birthday!!!

Like

9. celcus - June 9, 2008

The Waterboys version is a gem. If you haven’t had the pleasure, don’t miss the studio version on Fishermans Blues, the peak of the Scott-Thistlethwaite-Wickham line-up.

Happy Birthday!

Like

10. KamaAina - June 9, 2008

Hau’oli la hanau, E Toulouse!

One of these fine days I am going to have to come back, so I can teach you how to pronounce that.

Like

11. Wet Bank Guy - June 9, 2008

I don’t remember when exactly I found the Waterboys Fisherman’s Blues. I think it was while I was still in DC and I still have the cassette. I may have heard something on Thistle and Shamrock or somewhere that prompted me to check them out, and seeing this song and Yeats “The Stray Away Child” on the album guaranteed it was coming with me to the checkout counter.

I don’t know the rest of their work, but this would be one of those “desert island” disks I would chose if forced to make a short list of keepers.

And I couldn’t agree more with celcus and Grep: it is transcendent.

Like


Leave a comment