jump to navigation

I was just gonna say, don’t get hung up about Easter March 20, 2008

Posted by The Typist in cryptical envelopment, Dancing Bear, Leon Russell, music, Toulouse Street.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Look, I’m just saying that somewhere between Jesus dying on the cross, and a giant bunny hiding eggs there seems to be a gap of information.
–Stan from South Park

Yes, Lisa, there’s Peter Cotton Tail la-la-la. I’m not sure how I managed to forget that after raising two children to 16 and 13. Perhaps its that same trick of memory that doesn’t exactly remember what it felt like to put your hand on the stove, but keeps you away from it.

Here’s a better candidate for an Easter Song by Leon Russell. If James Brown was the undisputed Godfather of Soul, Leon Russell is the indisputable Godfather of Rock-and-Roll piano, the Master of Space and Time. His music was a rock-and-rollicking good time built on the rock-solid foundation of southern music and all it roots. On top of that, he was a perfect electric Rorschach acid test of every far out space of the times, the perfect avatar for the long-haired children of the early 1970s.

It’s too bad I can’t find an on-line version of the Leon song I really wanted, “Prince of Peace” (quoted below), so I”ll have to settle for a video of “Roll Away the Stone”.

Try to judge me only by my time and changes
and not mistaken words, for I say many.
Listen only to my song and watch my eyes.
There’s not much time to spill, there’s hardly any.

Well, look at all the children living in the streets,
and they’re looking, not afraid to touch each other.
They’re not afraid to be themselves or someone else
or choose their friends with love and not by colors.

Never treat a brother like a passing stranger.
Always try to keep the love light burning.
Sing a song of love and open up your heart
for you might be the Prince of Peace returning.

Oh, love the blind and wounded as your love yourself
And the businessmen in cells collecting pennies.
Judge their wealth by the coins they give away
and not the ones they keep themselves for spending

Oh, never be impatient with the ones you love.
It might be yourself that you’re burning.
Sing a song of love and open up your heart
for you might be the Prince of Peace returning.

Comments»

1. Adrastos - March 20, 2008

Great song. Thanks for posting it, MF.

Like

2. Nanci from San Jose, CA - January 10, 2009

Thanks for sharing the lyrics…but in the last verse, doesn’t he sing:

“It might be yourself that your HURTING” (makes more sense to me)

and…

“For IT might be the Prince of Peace returning” (makes more sense too).

Anyone?

Like

3. Fred - April 11, 2009

I just googled “dont’ get hung up about Easter” and came across this blog. It has become one of those catch phrases in my household when someone starts obsessing about something. I started using it after watching Mad Dogs and Englishmen. The troupe with Joe Cocker and Leon Russell were about to perform at the Fillmore West (or was it East ?) and Joe started with something like “Oooh…Easter… This is Easter.” and Leon added “I was just gonna say don’t get hang up about Easter” I found it funny and been using ever since.

Like

4. Teri Greene - April 5, 2010

I, too, am a big fan of Leon Russell. Since the sixties. What an awesome and soulful musician. And songwriter. And arranger and producer. It’s hard to praise him enough. Definitely a hard-rocking piano player.

But “the indisputable Godfather of Rock-and-Roll piano”? Do you not know about Little Richard, Russell’s pioneering predecessor?

Here’s to Leon!
tg

Like

mf - April 5, 2010

A matter of taste, as all such things are, and I prefer Russell.

Hell, being from Louisiana and having a sister who founded the first Jerry Lee Lewis Fan Club, I realize I am elevating Russell above others.

Mark Folse Toulouse Street — Odd Bits of Life in New Orleans http://toulousestreet.net “You got to be a spirit! You can’t be no ghost.” –Rastaman the Griot

Like

5. Teri Greene - April 5, 2010

Sorry, I left out Jerry Lee Lewis. Do you know of him, another of Russell’s pioneering predecessors?

Like

6. Roberto Riccio - April 22, 2011

One of my favorite things to say since the sixties! Don’t get hung up about Easter!

Like


Leave a comment