jump to navigation

Yo soy yo y mi circumstancia February 27, 2016

Posted by The Typist in cryptical envelopment, The Mystery, The Narrative, The Typist, The Vision, Toulouse Street.
trackback

“Yo soy yo y mi circumstancia” (“I am I and my circumstance”) (Meditaciones del Quijote, 1914).”

For [Jose’] Ortega y Gasset, as for Husserl, the Cartesian ‘cogito ergo sum’ is insufficient to explain reality. Therefore, the Spanish philosopher proposes a system wherein the basic or “radical” reality is “my life” (the first yo), which consists of “I” (the second yo) and “my circumstance” (mi circunstancia). This circunstancia is oppressive; therefore, there is a continual dialectical interaction between the person and his or her circumstances and, as a result, life is a drama that exists between necessity and freedom.

Comments»

1. Michelle Adam - February 28, 2016

circumstancia is the spelling for the above post. Love that you are using a Spanish title, but in jest and in reciprocity to your comments, I offer a correction in the Spanish spelling…Your unsolicited editor🙂

Like

The Typist - February 29, 2016

I can’t take credit for this one. It was a straight up cut-and-paste from Wikipedia based on end ouster ingredients the phrase in Rafael Chirbes ON THE EDGE, but my agrapia no doubt cause me to miss the error. A brilliant but terribly depressing book, Chirbes’, but then I’m fond of Beckett and Bukowski. A certain fatalism has always been one of my more interesting character flaws, and reading about economic collapse and Falangist terror seems apt topics in this ugly political year.

Like


Leave a Reply

