jump to navigation

Death of the Cool April 12, 2015

Posted by The Typist in Beauty, cryptical envelopment, Jazz, je me souviens, music, New Orleans, Remember, Shield of Beauty, The Narrative, The Typist.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

Listening to Yusef Lateef brought this song to mind (and only one other person in the world would know why). God Damned arpeggio showoneupmanship.  The world has forgotten how to swing slow, soft and sweet. Miles. Yusef. And Prez. Always Prez. (Yes, that’s our hat.)  How did we miss the Death of the Cool?

Miles Davis / Darn That Dream: https://youtu.be/-jYCpOOsEV0

Comments»

1. jazztraveler - April 15, 2015

When Fusion was loud and Free Jazz was wild, probably Cool went and died without making a fuss about it. That is how Cool was.

Like

2. The Typist - April 15, 2015

Jazztraveler, I fell into jazz at just about that moment, after rejecting it over my parents preferred cocktail party mix of Pete Fountain and Al Hirt (this being New Orleans), with a health dose of Herb Albert in the mix. I still listen to fusion, and fell into Sun Ra through the gateway drug of Pharoah Sanders a little further down the line, (I’ve spent countless years listening to Bitches Brew and have mostly given up presuming that, they all being at the Filemore, they needed a responsible chaperone; say, Jerry Garcia or Owsley). I came to the cool not too far into my own journey into jazz, and Prez, well, I love hats but there’s a reason I own that particular style. In black. I think you are about right, though. It did not fit the times, and if it’s made a comeback it is only that I’m a jazz naif after all these years (I know what I ike, but could never DJ at WWOZ) I’ve missed it. Pointers along that line of thought greatly appreciated.

Like


Leave a Reply

