jump to navigation

Spreading The Word March 3, 2012

Posted by The Typist in literature, New Orleans, Odd Words, Toulouse Street.
Tags:
trackback

Odd Words has been selected as a distributor for World Book Night, a project to distribute free books on April 23rd with a goal to reach people who are not regular readers.

This is just too cool.

Odd Words’ title is Tim O’Brien’s THE THINGS THEY CARRIED. It was not my first choice, but there are few books I would be more proud to be associated with. I’ve written about TTTC before, because it is an interesting hybrid of novel and biography, what O’Brien calls in the subtitled A Fiction. I have mentioned in mostly in the context of The Narrative and The Typist, the skeleton in the closet behind the posts here that aren’t Odd Words columns or what my professor of Writing Americapn Nature calls geomythology, the ones that seem, in the words of Stephen Elliot’s The Daily Rumpus e-mail, “overly personal.” They are and they aren’t. At the risk of repeating myself, read the Beckett quote at right.

I love that word, geomythology. It’s not in the dictionary, so you don’t need to look. Its a portmanteau word that I think is self explanatory, especially if you have red this blog before or perhaps one of the few who followed me here from Wet Bank Guide. Toulouse Street (and Wet Bank Guide before it) are all about the geomythography of New Orleans.

I will post more information on Word Book Night later when I work out the details. This isn’t a free book for everyone I know. It is intended to reach out to people who aren’t regular readers of books and I have A Plan. If you have’t read TTTC before, I can’t recommend it too strongly. In fact, if you haven’t read it before why not join my readers and pick up a copy on April 23 and read it. You won’t be disappointed.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

