jump to navigation

Listening for the new told lies July 12, 2008

Posted by The Typist in Toulouse Street.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

‘Facing a dying nation
Of moving paper fantasies
Listening for the new told lies
With supreme visions of lonely tunes”

It was Peter at Adrastos who made some remark about “the hippies” in reference to a McCain ad. Somehow that put me in mind of this song.

McCain. Iran. A dying nation of moving paper fantasies.

1968 was a long way from the end. Kids who started high school that year died in Vietnam.

Obama and the Democrats had best not fuck it up.

Comments»

1. Adrastos - July 13, 2008

Greg *may* have done so too but I’m the one who had a post called Keepin’ The Hippies Down, Senator Walnuts Style.

No more nutria for you, man….

Like

2. Wet Bank Guy - July 15, 2008

No,it was definitely you Peter, you dirty Bay-area hippie.

Like

3. LisaPal - July 15, 2008

Once again, you are responsible for another song that will be stuck in my head for a long time. And again, it’s one that I like from one of my favorite films. At least I’m not singing “Looking for My Donna” with Obama in place of Donna. (Oh-bama, oh, oh-bama, oh, oh, oh, looking for Obama.)

My sister was really into the musical in the late 60s (before the movie came out) and would play the sound track all the time. I could (and still can) sing every song from it including “Sodomy” which, considering that I was about 8 years old, got my sister into more than little trouble.

Like

4. Wet Bank Guy - July 15, 2008

He was a fifty year old virgin! O! Bama! O! O! Bama! OBama. Looking for Obama!

Like

5. Joe - March 6, 2009

I hope that in a couple of months we won’t have a reason to be singing:

Once upon a voting Obama time we felt like sixteen year old virgins! Now, O! Bama. O! O! Bama. O! O! O! Looking for Obama.

http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=97545652

Like


Leave a comment