jump to navigation

Odd Words November 18, 2009

Posted by The Typist in books, literature, New Orleans, NOLA, Odd Words, Toulouse Street.
trackback

On the road for business so no real time for a column this week. There is no Susan Larson listing (the rumor is she took the T-P buyout) so you might want to check the listings on Nordette Adams’s Examiner list.

§ Update I missed this while on the road, and may miss it today but will be there if I can: Lament and Katrina — A Dialogue Between Biblical Scholars and Poet. Hear Niyi Osundare ,Mona Lisa Saloy , Jerry Ward, Bill Lavender, Megan Burns, Dave Brinks and several biblical scholars discuss “why poetry has a capacity for deep lament but scholarship does not. Five distinguished and prolific poets and writers of New Orleans will be presenting their poems composed from their experiences of Hurricane Katrina. ” I will have to try to get down to the Waterbury room of the Sheraton on Canal Street Saturday Nov. 21 from 1-3:e0 pm.

§ What I’m reading: Lana Wiggin’s Notes from Refuge is a tremendous collections of poems. She read last week at 17 Poets. I’m too beat for a mini review so I’ll just tell you its fabulous and send you to this review ,and offer two of her own lines in summation: ” she falls from grace/with such madness”. All I would add to that (for now) is: out of madness, such grace. Get yourself some.

§ I know exactly where my Ulysses map of Dublin is (if only because I stumbled across it the other day in my files). If you are as fascinated by maps and literature as I am, you will love looking at some of the maps on the atlas(t) blog. I rather hope they do up an On The Road map.

Comments»

1. Charlotte - November 19, 2009

Nordette rocks. Done.

2. Nordette - November 19, 2009

LOL. Thank you , Charlotte. And thank you, monsieur. I have been sensing Susan’s absence; however, I also heard that she’s working on an update to her book on New Orleans writers.

N.
nola101.com


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,712 other followers

