jump to navigation

Carnival Preview: Shin Fein February 19, 2009

Posted by The Typist in 504, Carnival, cryptic envelopment, Dancing Bear, Mardi Gras, New Orleans, NOLA, Sinn Fein, Toulouse Street.
trackback

Here is a preview of my Carnival costume. I’m calling him Shin Fein, for reasons that will be obvious to most people who stumble into this Odd corner of the Intertubes. The Chinese name Shin can be (loosely) translated as Belief, Faith, etc. which I think goes well with the concept of Sinn Fein.

I may have taken a picture with a dorkier looking expression at some time in my past, but I certainly haven’t kept a copy of it around. I look like I should be holding up a sign-board and have ink stains on my finger tips. And, no, I have not gotten a gold tooth, but it would certainly match.

Mrs. Wet called me “vain” when I noticed that she hadn’t fixed the collar before she snapped the picture. I think she was still mad at me for running around K-Mart holding up women’s pants to my waist and asking if they made me look fat. (Yes, those are women’s capris in a size that requires the use of scientific notation. They were the best I could do for slacks).

The hat was the genesis of the costume. The jacket goes well, either gold side out or green side out. The pants were a compromise, but work OK with the gold stockings and shoes. By the next time I pull this out, I hope to have found some decent Kung Fu pants in just the right color.

Now I just have to think of a good mixer for green tea. I’m not to sure about vodka.

See you on the Avenue or roaming the quarter.

singfein1

Comments»

1. liprap - February 19, 2009

Shin is also the next to last letter of the Hebrew alphabet.

Looking forward to seeing you, no matter what you’re wearing!

2. Howie Luvzus - February 19, 2009

Homan has some pants like that. They’d be about 10 inches shorter though. Oh snap!

3. KamaAina - February 19, 2009

Ash would love it!

Maybe next year, I can join you as his Cajun cousin, “Jimmy Souviens”.

4. Wet Bank Guy - February 19, 2009

Yeah, but Mike wears his to class.

5. Slate - February 19, 2009

That looks GREAT. The hubs is jealous!

6. Marco - February 20, 2009

Formidable!, as they say in French.

7. Karen - February 21, 2009

the shoes are astonishing


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,688 other followers

